Army Announces Team for Third Annual Warrior Games

PDF version of this press release

March 28, 2012

Alexandria, VA – The Warrior Transition Command announced the Army team for the third annual Warrior Games today. Wounded, ill and injured Soldiers and Veterans trained and competed for months to be one of 50 athletes representing the Army in the 2012 Warrior Games. The games are slated April 30 – May 5, Colorado Springs, Colo.

The Warrior Games represent the resilient spirit of today's wounded, ill or injured service members from all branches of the military. At the Warrior Games, more than 200 men and women demonstrate the power of ability over disability as they compete for gold in seven sports. This year, the Warrior Games are hosted by the U.S. Olympic Committee and supported by the U.S. Department of Defense, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, USO, Fisher House Foundation and the Bob Woodruff Foundation.

Thirty Soldiers and 20 Army veterans will represent the Army in competition with the Marines Corps, Navy/Coast Guard, Air Force and Special Operations teams for the gold in archery, cycling, wheelchair basketball, shooting, swimming, track and field and sitting volleyball. The majority of Army team members will compete in at least two events.

The Army 2012 Warrior Games team:

Charles Allen (Veteran)
Staff Sgt. Spencer Anderson II (Europe Regional Medical Command)
Tanya Anderson (Veteran)
Sgt. Brian Bradley (Walter Reed National Military Medical Center)
Staff Sgt. Krissell Creager-Lumpkins (Fort Carson)
Staff Sgt. Damian Davis (Fort Sam Houston)
Lt. Col. Danny Dudek (Warrior Transition Command)
Victor Favero (Veteran)
Chanda Gaeth (Veteran)
1st Sgt. Rhoden Galloway (Fort Sam Houston)
Maj. Bruce Gannaway (Continuation on Active Duty)
Robbie Gaupp (Veteran)
Staff Sgt. Kenny Griffith (Fort Hood)
Staff Sgt. Vester Hasson (Fort Lewis)
Sean Hook (Veteran)
Spc. Joshua Ivey (Fort Benning)
Chess Johnson (Veteran)
Michael Kacer (Veteran)
Spc. Brynden Keller (Walter Reed National Military Medical Center)
Kinga Kiss-Johnson (Veteran)
Sgt. Julio Larrea (Walter Reed National Military Medical Center)
Capt. William Longwell (Walter Reed National Military Medical Center)
Staff Sgt. Ammala (Al) Louangketh (Europe Regional Medical Command)
Staff Sgt. Stefanie Mason (Walter Reed National Military Medical Center)
Staff Sgt. John Masters (Walter Reed National Military Medical Center)
Staff Sgt. Delvin Maston (Fort Sam Houston)
Spc. Ryan McIntosh (Fort Sam Houston)
Randall (Blake) McMinn (Veteran)
Cpl. Brian Miller (Community-Based Warrior Transition Unit – Virginia)
Justin Miller (Veteran)
Master Sgt. Dean Pannasch (Fort Knox)
Robert Patterson (Veteran)
Staff Sgt. Ruben Pedro (Fort Gordon)
Spc. Jasmine Perry (Fort Campbell)
Damion Peyton (Veteran)
Anthony Pone (Veteran)
Perry Price (Veteran)
Sgt. Fred Prince (Fort Lewis)
Sgt. 1st Class Landon Ranker (Fort Campbell)
Paul Roberts (Veteran)
Juan Soto (Veteran)
Sgt. Monica Southhall (Community-Based Warrior Transition Unit – Virginia)
Staff Sgt. Justin Steele (Fort Eustis)
Benjamin Trescott (Veteran)
Margaux Vair (Veteran)
Spc. Elizabeth Wasil (Fort Sam Houston)
Jessie White (Veteran)
1st Lt. Antone Williams (Fort Benning)
Staff Sgt. Curtis Winston (Continuation on Active Duty)
Ilija Zafiroski (Veteran)

Photos and athlete profiles will be posted April 4 at For more information, interviews or media embeds, contact, 703.325.0470.

The Warrior Transition Command is a major subordinate command under the U.S. Army Medical Command. WTC's mission is to develop, coordinate and integrate the Army's Warrior Care and Transition Program for wounded, ill and injured soldiers, veterans and their families. For more information on WTC, visit the new WTC website,, follow on Twitter at or join Facebook at .